Itchy Feet

Standard
Itchy Feet

Itchy Feet

It’s happening! For those who know me, it’s not surprising that my smile grows when asked about sand, sun, surf, summer, dark chocolate and of course, travel! Just about every day there’s travel on my brain in one form or another but there are times like this that it takes up every part of my being. I’ve got itchy feet again!

It’s a conversation I’ve had all around the world with travelers from all walks of life. What do you do when you get itchy feet? For some, they tell me they take out their albums or pop in the portable hard drive and relive their most recent or unforgettable experience. Others say they make a plan to put a dream into action in one years time. My friend, Louise, heads straight to her favourite last minute websites to pull together some form of adventure with her husband out of London’s Heathrow. Luckily, my partner in crime and I have traveled many places together, so we can sit at dinner and retell stories of magnificent adventures and that helps, but at the moment, I don’t think anything will do aside from pressing the ‘book’ button and seeing the magical words ‘confirmed’ grace the screen (at the moment, they’d be as welcome as the beautiful sound of a passport stamp).

We live beside the Atlantic Ocean in Long Beach, NY and the northern hemisphere summer is our favourite time to be here. We often escape the winter’s cold to warmer climates and tend not to head off in the season of sun and surf, but, no matter what, it’s happening. My feet are getting itchy. We’ve been on many holidays this 2014, in the year I turn 40, and I feel lucky to have been able to go, but still, that itch is back. Is there an exotic birthday adventure in the plans, a change in scenery afoot, a new journey to take together…who knows what’s next, but whatever the plans…I’m ready.

This summer we’ve made it our business to enjoy a ‘travel’ existence in Long Beach. We’ve ventured to outdoor movies on the sand, visited the farmers market in town, posed in yoga on the beach, gone for walks on the boardwalk, eaten ice cream whenever the mood struck and planned picnics as often as we could. I’m feeling very lucky and extremely blissful, yet, the itch is back. Travel planning makes my heart happy. These past few days I find myself on travel websites searching for a beachside bungalow in an island off of anywhere for new cultures, new cuisines and new memories. I dream of traversing South Africa’s garden route and standing on China’s Great Wall. I don’t think the itch will stop until it’s satiated. Fingers crossed we get to press ‘book’ really soon.

How do you handle your ‘itchy feet’?

6 responses »

  1. I know that feeling well. That’s why I have back-to-back Portland and Canada trips booked for the next three weeks and already planning my October getaway. 🙂

    • Perfect! Sounds like so much fun! Please let me know if I can help with your October getaway in any way. Nice to know there are others out there with the same ‘itchy feet’! xo

  2. Nice post. Like the list list of quotes as eel. With a tween, we are limited in our travel options during the school year so we know this feeling well.

    We handle it by ensuring a broad range of reminders scattered about the house. We are blogging on this theme (see http://exploretheworldwithyourkids.com/bring-it-home/) and our related Pinterest board (http://www.pinterest.com/BWLEtravel/bring-it-home/). Let us know if you try out any of these ideas and we can compare notes!

    • Excellent! Thank you. Completely understand as I just resigned from teaching after over 15 years in the public school system and planned travel for each and every school break! Reminders are awesome and bringing travel home with you in any way you can is a wonderful gift to your entire family. Would love to compare notes. Thanks for reading. Cheers, Stacey

Leave a Reply

