Thank you, Summer!

Standard
I Love Summer!

I Love Summer!

For this beach girl, summer is my all time favourite season. I spent one entire year following the sun and given the choice it would be summer, always. On this day, the unofficial ending of the summer season, countless flock to the sand to experience one last hurrah. While those of us who live here know that the season continues well past Labor Day; this weekend we say goodbye to the lifeguards, those bright orange lifeguard stands and my favourite two months of the year. Seasons change and life goes on, but for me, summer is a constant and the joy it brings lasts me through three other seasons. If I can’t find it in New York, most of the time you’ll find me searching for the sunshine on other shores. Thank you, Summer. Thank you for the continual smile on my face and the happy wiggles for my toes.

THANK YOU for… 

  • Sunshine filled beach days
  • Walks on the sand
  • Ice cream on a warm summer night
  • Beach yoga
  • Some of the best people watching around
  • Boardwalk walks
  • Friendly and attentive lifeguards
  • Those bright orange Long Beach lifeguard stands
Our stand at Azores Beach in Long Beach, NY.

Our stand at Azores Beach in Long Beach, NY.

  • Sun-kissed skin
  • Outdoor picnics
  • White caps and waves that hold the answers to life’s questions
  • Terrace evenings
  • Barbecues
  • Outdoor adventures
  • Driving with the top down
  • Salty ocean water on my skin
  • The flags on the beach that tell me the direction of the wind
  • Watermelon smoothies
  • Movie nights on the sand
  • Chocolate ices that drip down my fingers
  • Craft fairs
  • Summer concerts
  • Flip flops
A very special place on the sand-where our toes and hearts are happy!

A very special place on the sand-where our toes and hearts are happy!

  • Days spent in sarongs without shoes or make up in sight
  • Camp
  • S’mores
  • Sunsets and sunrises
  • Sea glass and shells
  • Beach naps
  • Days spent ‘doing nothing’
  • Endless summer fun
  • No stress
  • Farmers markets
  • Relaxation and recreation
  • The six-o’clock whistle

 Thank you, Summer…..don’t stay away too long.

Our celebration on the sand with s'mores cupcakes!

Our celebration on the sand with s’mores cupcakes!

 

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: September…in San Diego | The Gift of Travel

Leave a Reply

