It’s All About ‘The Happy’!

Standard

“What’s happening, Will?” “It’s the wave of change, Bill! We’ve got to get on the ride.” “Fascinating-what is it? “I have no idea.” “What’s it for?” “Perhaps, it’s a momentary relief from the existential terrors of existence.” “Oh-what?” “It brings out my happy!” Happy Feet 2 

Coronado Island-San Diego, California

So, it’s now been just about one month in sunny, San Diego. I can’t even believe it. The air is easy to breathe, the sun is out most every day, people are outside everywhere and shoes are a thing of the past. Recently, I made a friend, joined a yoga studio and got a freelance gig. The husband is happily consulting. Our social life has been more active in the past three weeks than it has in years (except for our time in Melbourne), and that’s including the Long Beach summer season. We’ve been hiking in state parks, had picnics on the sand, been to travel industry dinners, caught happy hour at a local bar and watched the Super Bowl outside. We’ve had a dinner date with new friends, visited the Maritime Museum with some old friends, took in an art opening with San Diego’s major players and have grabbed more than our fair share of southern California’s vitamin D. How is this my life?

My new friend, Kara and I have a lot in common. We are both traditionally trained teachers, searching for another way to have an impact on the world. We’ve both lived overseas, believe strongly in the benefits of international experiences, want to spend as much time by the water as possible and know first-hand the benefits of asanas on a yoga mat. Just the other day, we gabbed about everything and nothing, how there’s so much of the world left to see, touch and experience and how that feeling never seems to go away. We talked about old friends and new ones, traditional paths and off-the-beaten ones and the wonderful ability of choosing ones own way in the world. Something she said stuck with me as we were in the midst of discussing career paths and finding our way in the world. She said it’s all about ‘finding what makes you happy’.

Yoga in the Maldives...a happy place

When you’re little, adults offer you the world and just a few short years later, you grow up to be one of those adults. Finding your way in the world whether 18, 21, 35 or 55 isn’t easy yet a journey all its own. Would the world be different if all of us could focus on finding our happy? What if we didn’t have to worry about meeting someone else’s expectations of us or fitting into a certain mold-what if we all just found our happy? Often times, some of our true ‘happy’ is stifled or sacrificed for fear of failure, hurting other people’s feelings, or just the complete unknown. What if we all made that leap? What if we all shoved ‘finding our happy’ to the forefront of our minds and put that first. Can you imagine a world filled with happy people who feel good in their jobs, in their choices and fully comprehend a Costa Rican Pura Vida view of the world? Imagine?

With the one I love on our lifeguard stand on one of my favourite beaches-Azores Beach, Long Beach, NY

Whether or not it’s possible for the entire universe, I believe that it’s the approach and quest I’m on at the moment. My happy is on a beach with my toes in the sand. My happy is on an adventure or in the throws of planning one. My happy is knowledge that I can make a difference in the world and directly affect positive change. My happy is a flexible schedule with time for the ones I love and life in the midst of work. My happy is working to live and not living to work. My happy is ease, simplicity, and positive people. My happy is international conversation, kind people, laughter, friends and positive attitudes. My happy is a yoga class or a walk by the sea. My happy is a surprise outing, an afternoon picnic and a sunny day.

My happy doesn’t fit in any one box and yours doesn’t have to either. Do what you need to do to find your happy and embrace it.

“You’re only given one little spark of madness. You mustn’t lose it.” –Robin Williams

Hanging around in Anti-Gravity Yoga

4 responses »

  1. My “happy” is my QUEST for happy — what a wonderful journey! And……guess what? The journey is filled with happiness. Great life.

    Enjoy every minute, Stacey. Love, –K

  2. Happy looks great on you! Looking back at all of your posts, perhaps start taking classes in becoming a yoga instructor? All of the positivity and bendi-ness should be shared, and you can do it anywhere & everywhere! keep on stretching to the max…. xxox

Leave a Reply

