2015…..what a year you’ve been

Standard

Bye Bye 2015

We’re in the home stretch of 2015 and I can’t even believe it. I was twenty-one when I first said I’d love to live in California for awhile and two decades later, it came true. Whether for a season or something more, this year has been special. When I was teaching, each day brought me closer and closer to winter break excitement. One of the main goals when leaving traditional education was to create a holiday lifestyle year ’round. Each day we try to reach that lofty goal. No more waiting for the weekend, day off or long extended holiday. Believing in the hype, creating the magic and always reaching for the happy…we’re trying each and every day.

“Twenty years from now you’ll be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” – Mark Twain

It’s been a big year. We gave up our apartment in Long Beach, visited Spring Training baseball, hiked mountains, hung out with Mickey Mouse, made new friends, wiggled our toes in the Pacific, accomplished new yoga poses, devised new goals, challenged fears, spent time with family & friends, watched beautiful sunsets, stepped outside our comfort zones, celebrated the 10 year anniversary of when we met in New Zealand and tackled life head on. Who knows what’s ahead in 2016 or beyond, but I’m glad we’ve had these 12 months here.

Between social media, new connections and the world at large; I seem to meet people making changes. Some are choosing new paths, making new decisions, reclaiming old dreams and others are making conscious choices in their daily lives. I love this. I may not be in the place I’d like to just yet, but I’m far closer than I ever was before. Each day another door opens. Each day something is clearer than the next and each day we’re closer to figuring it all out. No matter what – we’re out there, we’re trying and we’re working towards the life we want.

In these last few days of 2015, I continue to count myself incredibly lucky. Lucky to be healthy and happy, lucky to have freedom of choice, lucky to keep making these leaps and thankful for all who continue to help support in these ventures. This year we’ve celebrated milestones and moment, helping hands and heartfelt hugs, sunshine and smiles, activity and adventure and family and friends.

“Don’t live the same year 75 times and call it a life” – Robin S. Sharma

There are many quotes that resonate with me. Travel, adventure, choices, perspective, dreams, journey and so many other topics peak my fancy and give me incentive to keep going in a direction of a dream. I don’t want to look back and see the same year re-lived. We’re on course to try to be sure that doesn’t happen – there’s a goal in itself. My 2015 has been filled with changes, learnings, new experiences and unadulterated fun. Wherever you are in your journey – I hope 2015 has been kind to you and that 2016 will be your best year yet. Wishing you kindness, good health, love, laughter and adventure in this new year…onward!

 

Leave a Reply

