How do you know when to change direction?

Standard

how do you know when to change direction - thegiftoftravel.wordpress.com

“It’s a terrible thing, I think, in life to wait until you’re ready. I have this feeling now that actually no one is ever ready to do anything. There is almost no such thing as ready. There is only now. And you may as well do it now. Generally speaking, now is as good a time as any.” – Hugh Laurie

The past few years, I’ve had a few visits to the school I taught in for over a decade. Now, I walk in, get my photo taken, hand over my license and wander around with a visitor’s sticker in lieu of my staff identification. I come and go at my own choosing. It’s weird. I didn’t retire, I chose to change directions in life and although I continue to feel welcomed by my school, it’s staff, faculty and students, it feels different now. But in reality, I never really knew for certain that that particular time was the time to leave…somewhere along the line I had to leap. It’s not an easy choice.

“If you think adventure is dangerous, try routine…it’s lethal” -Paulo Coelho

Through real and virtual connections, I’ve recently heard many discussing similar situations. People branching out of their 9-5 and heading off in different direction choosing life online as the way to make their main income or continue it on the side until they’re ready to leap. There seems to be heaps of coaches, direct sales, marketers and more flooding the pages of my social media feeds daily and many seemingly make more in a month than some professionals I know. The world is definitely changing direction.

“If you do not change direction, you may end up where you are heading” -Lao Tzu 

What about you? Have you had an ‘on the side’ hobby you want to take mainstream? Have you longed for a change of venue, career, pace or geographical location? Have you made the leap already? How did you find it? Sometimes, I wonder if this is the correct destination (in geography and career) or if I’m still on a journey to find the right path. Each day I know I’m happy being in the process and trying to continue to make that leap. Each day I know that leaving one was a choice I was lucky to have. Each day I know that this is a journey, perhaps with many varied stops along the way. Some stops are for longer than others, some stops you revisit and others you can’t wait to leave. No matter what, if you’re lucky enough to be on the journey, you’re lucky enough.

“There is nothing wrong with change, if it is in the right direction” – Winston Churchill

Right now, I’m enjoying this stop, both literally and figuratively. Right now I’m making my way in the world through writing, event planning and consulting and planning time for healthy lifestyle, visits with those we love and a bit of adventure. Sure, it’s not as stable as the path on which I was once on, but, it’s a choice and mine to make. Perhaps there will be more stops and changes of direction, but for now, I’ll keep plugging away enjoying the opportunities, challenges and new experiences that come along. I’m not sure you ever really know when the time is right, but, I know that if you never leap…you’ll never know. Happy leaping!

Leave a Reply

